A Noob's First Steps

I have no 3D design experience, I’ve never built on SL, I don’t know Blender, and most of the terms I read about surrounding building in HiFi I don’t even understand. But it’s all so cool, I wish I did. I don’t want to become a world builder, but I would like to know a little bit about how things work, and I would like to figure out how to buy a 3D model and import it into my domain. My work is as a writer and director so I’m initially concerned with using my domain as a place to experiment with storytelling, and to that end I need to create an environment. Can someone give me some beginner suggestions as to what I should be studying and what some first steps should be? I am willing to put time into taking tutorials and learning software, but I don’t plan on working towards a goal of being able to really design stuff like many of you. My first goal is to know enough to source and import 3D models. To date I have used the marketplace to spawn creations into my home domain and have used the edit tool to move and scale them. I can play with building blocks but not much else. I downloaded Blender and it’s very intimidating. Thank you for any suggestions.

Hi @jasonmo
Why not start with FREE models?
blend swap.com/ and sketchfab are two places with downloadable content, often CC-Zero, which means you can use them anywhere.

For paid (and some free) models there is TurboSquid

High Fidelity uses .fbx and .obj models.
If you can come to a Friday at 2PM Pacific time meeting, I am sure @Menithal, @Judas, and other alphas can give you lots of model tips.

Also, check out the HiFi Marketplace for many freebie. Welcome aboard!