Advice on creating a VR lab at Brooklyn College

Hi All,

Some of you know me as the guy making interactive VR stories from a few months ago. I’m also a professor of film and television at Brooklyn College in New York. My overlords at the college are considering my request to build a VR lab, which is great news except for one problem. I’m not really sure what this lab should look like or how it should be set up. I’m seeking advice from anyone here who has experience or can imagine a room dedicated to creating VR work in room-scale environment with capacity for multiple workstations/users working at the same time in the same place. If anyone has pictures of such a space, I would be very grateful.

The class size will likely be 10 students. I’m not thinking that we’d have 10 workstations, we wouldn’t have room for that. Maybe 3 or 4 at most. Each workstation of course needs the proper computer and HMD and lighthouses and space for the user to move around.

I imagine this lab will allow students to create VR worlds, experiences, stories, etc. Using the same hardware and software that we all use here in HiFi. I’ll probably also teach 360 video but those needs are much simpler than trying to create multiple room scale VR stations.

My first thought was to just place each workstation in a corner, mark out some space on the floor with tape or something, keep it really simple. But I’m wondering if maybe some partitions would be nice to keep each space more isolated so that it’s less distracting for people?

This space would start off as one large empty classroom, BTW. I’m looking for advice or tips on the design within that space.

What are some ideas, tips or essentials that you would want to see in a space like this if you were teaching this class or taking it?

At the front I’m imagining a lectern with A/V stuff: DVD player, speakers, computer, large projector screen. So I could do basic lectures to the whole class.