Asset Transfer Protocol Using Network Attached Storage

Has anyone tried using Asset Transfer Protocol with a Network Attached Storage device? I have no experience using ATP as of right now, and wanted a dedicated build if leveraging NAS is possible.

cc: @chris @b @hyperlogic

There are also other alphas that might want to chime in on this.

cc: @OmegaHeron, @sam, @humbletim

Been using it since it rolled out (lost track of how long that’s been). It works well, but, I would suggest waiting a bit until some updates are made.

In so far as its performance… using it from a server on a fat data pipe – it’s hands down better than HTTP. Running it from home where your upload speed may be a small fraction of down… you get what you get. :slightly_smiling:

Well played sir, thank you. When it comes time to integrate, I’ll come knocking. :smiley:

u said it lol
i gots nothinnn

We will need to add the simple feature to allow you to specify a custom assets directory for this to be possible, but otherwise nothing should stop you from using whichever storage you want, assuming you can map the NAS to what looks like a local drive to the application.

The best way to get assets to the asset-server is just to drop them in the assets directory. The upload process for multiple assets at a time from the client is currently not very robust. The assets directory is in the application data folder under assignment-client/assets. When the asset-server launches it will check this directory for new files and add them to its in-memory list of available assets. It should output in the log when it runs the new ATP filenames for assets it has discovered.

I’d like to make ATP less of a frustration for you. What are the biggest pain points you have with it right now?

Beyond all that… it needs a sha256 -> human readable name translation “database” as well. That’s the true block as it doesn’t take long to end up with a few hundred MB of WTH is this sha256.fbx files…