Hi there! I’m pretty new to High Fidelity. I started using it like almost a week ago. I’m a really experienced 3D artist and my company (PROTOFACTOR,INC) has been contacted by HiFi to port some of our content to the upcoming premium marketplace. Basically they’d like to have more avatars…

So I did my homework as good as I could. Read the online documentation, watch online tutorials etc… And so far I managed to import an .fst of an avatar. However the problem is that it’s all jacked up…
I’m pretty sure this is due to the fact that 3DS MAX axis (Z up) are not the same as the one used in HiFi. Basically I think that it all comes down to the rigging part…
I even tried to import in 3DS MAX the default wooden mannequin that is in the install folder and re export it and make an .fst out of it and still, it’s all messed up… I’m really out of ideas… and pretty frustrated.

Does anybody knows how to rig an avatar in 3DS MAX? or even better, does anybody have a sample skeleton in .max format that works with HiFi?

Thanks in advance for your help! :slight_smile:
Cheers!

Hi Profactor,
I can’t help, but am interested in the situation.
If you don’t already attend, you might like to ask at the weekly Zaru Room meeting of about 25 people that happens every week in HighFidelity, Friday afternoons Pacific Standard Time. Several experienced techies there who create avatars.
Or even just go into HighFidelity anytime and ask the greeters who are normally on duty in the various venues (usually there’s about five people in one of the venues).
I myself am keen to build or buy a good avatar that is real-life representing, as well as a wardrobe of other avatars for different occasions.
Bruce Thomson in New Zealand. palmytomo@gmail.com

Thanks for trying to help! :slight_smile:
I’m new to this. Do you happen to know the specific URL for that meeting? I would be interested in attending.
For now I’m going to try my last hope. Mixamo auto rigger…