Bear with me...noob question on security

I’ve been reading some of the documentation on installing the Stack Manager on a PC, which I’d like to do. It mentions basic admin security, but I was thinking, if I create a place and want to open it up to others to visit etc. doesn’t this pose a bit of a security issue if it’s hosted locally on my PC? I’m not a developer so a bit of clarity about this would be really appreciated.

My usual disclaimer - I’m just another Alpha and my opinions are strictly my own.

The basic answer to this is, yes, it creates a security risk to your PC (or Mac/Linux Box) as would any running of a server process where you’re giving outsiders a way into your computer.

Anyone running a server should (and really must) consider the basic question of Is this something I want to do? and be aware there will always be a risk associated with doing so. It would be irresponsible to say HiFi’s stack is anything other than what it is, alpha level software, and as such it could have vulnerabilities. On the flip side, well developed code that should not have any glaring vulnerabilities often do – so, again, you have to consider the risks and balance against your desire to open the gates.

Hi Omega, thanks for your reply. I thought that might be the case. Looks like I might not try out the stack manager which is a shame. Still, there are enough places to be able to participate, explore the HF world features and contribute.

I’m working on a not too difficult idea to use of making a virtual box linux image one could run keeping stack in its own protected space on Windows. Virtual Box is free and HiFi’s excellent ability to tunnel through complex networking setups (NATS etc) makes it easy mode. By running in a VM you can isolate Stack to its own “protected” space where, if something nasty happens it would be limited to just the VM space.