Can we run script inside entity from local disk (for testing), (Yes we can for development)

Can we run a script inside entity ?
That script is stored on my local disk for testing.

If it’s not possible how do we ever need to edit and test a script ?
No do not say use the build in script editor because that one is not workable for me.

Or is there some other way to test script you want to run later inside entity ?

I am also new to this and have found this way:

Store your script on your disk as normal use your favorite editor, then upload it to the assets of the sandbox using the asset browser’s blue “chose file” button.

Then you can set the entity script url like: atp:/yourscriptname.js or atp:/yourfolder/yourscriptname

If you change the file you need to upload it again and, because of caching in the interface client, you will need to edit the entity script url with a new parameter on the end like atp:/yourscriptname.js?v=x where you increment x every time.

Seems to work for me so far but I’ve not done anything complicated yet.

Cheers,
Robin.

That way i know, and that is not a good way to develop a script. I still have nightmares from that 1 year ago. where one step more complex then now.

We just need to have the option to run it from disk for testing.
But still with your way the cache is going to bite !

Oh, hasn’t bitten me yet, but I’m only using one asset so far :slight_smile:

I agree it’s clumsy too. Maybe the option to use file://URLs for script and then some global search and replace to set them all to proper URLs when deploying?

Cheers,
Robin.

We have been thru this before several times.
There is (was) a feature available to run scripts by directly injecting the code into the scriptURL window.
This method has been broken for more than a year, sadly. Because this was the best method for testing scripts instead of uploading a fresh version everytime.

@james_hifi has confirmed that this method was available but is not currently working.