Digital Ocean, Linode, or another for the complete noob

Hi Again,

Looks like I’ll need to go with a 3rd party for my domain (if that is the correct term). The two I’ve seen mentioned here are Digital Ocean and Linode. Any thoughts as to which is the better for the person who knows NOTHING about this sort of thing? Linode seem a little more straightforward in terms of explaining what I’m getting for my money. I just don’t know if that translates into ease of use.

A second related question: I learned a lot from Stack Manager and Content Creation video on YouTube. Once I’ve chosen either Digital Ocean or Linode, or another service, is there a similar video (or plans for a video) to show how to get my content onto Digital Ocean or Linode? The YouTube video assumes a local server. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

JR

Question 1. How comfortable are you with managing Linux machines via SSH command prompt access? There’s absolutely no easy way to do this – there are “easier” ways via some scripts and helper things, but, it’s still command prompt level setup and ongoing management…

My comfort level is zero. I have never even so much as hit the power button of a Linux machine. I have not even dealt with Windows since Windows NT, if that tells you what a dinosaur I am. I’m a Mac user (no surprise there, huh?, though I just finished wiping my Mac Pro’s HD clean for its impeding sale on eBay). Even the time I have spent in Unity3D was with the visual editor called PlayMaker. I am, however, willing to learn, though I expect I will pay someone for the initial setup and learn management as I go along.

Thank you for asking this question. I am still struggling.

For now, because the number of avatars you will likely every have in your domain is a handful, it is far easier to host it locally. More explained here: Max number of avatars in Sandbox?