Goto and the number of people online

I was wondering about the perception that people could have.

When you are using the Goto application:

• If you see 1 person online on a domain, do you go or not?

• If you see 2 people online on a domain, do you go or not?

• If you see 5 people online on a domain, do you go or not?

• How many people does it need to feel as not forcing a small circle?

If I know whose domain it is I also hop there for one person.

If I don’t know anyone present in a domain I wait for two or more people to be there before I go to it myself.

I actually go only to a domain, when I see 0 people online there.

Good thread
Etiquette
People I don’t want to see
People I do
People working
People not
No text chat to ask

As an explanatory addition:

I’ve had some strange experiences. I have to say that I only go to private domains when there are 0 people. On other domains like ‘Avatar Island’ or ‘Spot’ it’s different. Still, I find it strange to be immediately approached by someone. And you are insulted as unfriendly if you don’t answer directly (Instant Messeges would be cool…). I don’t use my microphone because there is always feedback loops and I don’t really like to speak, maybe it’s because of the language barrier.

I don’t know how others do it, but when I go downtown in RL, I don’t run directly to the first person I see and start a conversation. And insult the person as unfriendly if he doesn’t answer. Here I would wish for VR worlds to behave more like in RL.

When I work on my domain, I don’t want to welcome every guest immediately. That’s why I built myself an area where it’s obvious that the person inside is working. It should also show the visitor that he can look around without obligation and that his presence does not disturb me. Should he have a question, he can send me an instant message… (damn, that would be cool).

It might be nice to see a list of “who” is in a domain, not only how many, before you visit.