Hifi newb has questions, docs don't seem to answer

I’m fairly new to Hifi, and even newer to sandbox/world editing. I come from VRChat, but know the world building is entirely different for Hifi. I’ve played around in the sample sandbox and learned a few things, both on my own and with help from docs or googling. There remains some issues, however:

1. To start with the most trivial problem, is it possible to set up a sandbox with nothing but a ground plane, essentially from scratch, instead of the sample welcome world?

2. How is asset collision determined? Is it just automatically generated based on the asset’s model? Could I have specific meshes of that model with collision and some without? (ie. importing an entire house model, which may have curtains. Curtains shouldn’t physically block someone). Could I possibly supply the asset with a custom collision mesh, similar to what Unity does?

3. Can double sided materials be used? If so, how can I use such a shader?

Thanks for the help!

Hello Laphicet!

To start with the most trivial problem, is it possible to set up a sandbox with nothing but a ground plane, essentially from scratch, instead of the sample welcome world

Yes! I suggest going on the Marketplace and getting this environment. It (and other environments) will replace your existing sandbox.

How is asset collision determined? Is it just automatically generated based on the asset’s model? Could I have specific meshes of that model with collision and some without? (ie. importing an entire house model, which may have curtains. Curtains shouldn’t physically block someone). Could I possibly supply the asset with a custom collision mesh, similar to what Unity does?