How are supposed to be used Overlay 3d of type cube and why I cannot see them?

Scripter newbie here. I tried to grok the Overlays at white belt level so I was able to run and understand how it works the attached script#1. It works but left me with the question: how can I find all overlays not deleted? Is there a function to fetch all of them (2D overlays)?

Then I tried to build up some overlays with type 3d as suggested by the documentation as this link is suggesting https://docs.highfidelity.com/api-reference/namespaces/overlays#.deleteOverlay (see script #2) and I coudnt see any “cube” in front of my avatar or anywhere in the desktop interface, so I am quite puzzled where these cubes are supposed to be viewed are they only visibile in VR?. I am on MacOs now. The script says there is a cube but I cannot spot on my interface.
So where should I be able to see them and what are they supposed to be used for?

script #1:

var overlay = Overlays.addOverlay("text", {
    text: "my text",
    font: { size: 24 },
    x: 200, y: 200,
    width: 500, height: 500,
});

Controller.mousePressEvent.connect(function (event) {
    var clickedOverlay = Overlays.getOverlayAtPoint({ x: event.x, y: event.y });
    print("Clicked: " + clickedOverlay + " " + " our overlay is " + overlay);
    if(clickedOverlay && clickedOverlay === overlay) {
        console.log("deleting overlay")
        Overlays.deleteOverlay(overlay);
        overlay = null;
    }
  });

script #2:

var overlay = Overlays.addOverlay("cube", {
    position: Vec3.sum(MyAvatar.position, Vec3.multiplyQbyV(MyAvatar.orientation, { x: 0, y: 0, z: -3 })),
    rotation: MyAvatar.orientation,
    dimensions: { x: 0.3, y: 0.3, z: 0.3 },
    solid: true
  });
  var type = Overlays.getOverlayType(overlay);
  print("Type: " + type);