How To: Build Hifi on Linux & Run a Domain in the Cloud

Hey! I’m hoping that you all can give me some feedback on this blog post I’m working on. My personal motivation is to have a domain that is not on my computer, because I often delete all data during testing. I’d like a place where I can accumulate stuff! Thanks in advance!

This article shows how to build two applications, domain-server and assignment-client, that are needed to run your own virtual world in the cloud!

It assumes that you have some familiarity with using the command prompt / terminal, and that you have a billing account with a cloud provider capable of running an Ubuntu Linux instance.

CHOOSE A CLOUD PROVIDER

I have a lot of experience with Amazon and ec2 is a nice, flexible choice for hosting. I wanted to learn how to use Microsoft Azure, so that’s what we use in this article. They also have a $200 free trial! Digital Ocean is another choice with great prices, although I’m less familiar with their offerings.

GET UBUNTU

Deploy an ubuntu image to your service using their tools. The version you should use is ubuntu 14.04 LTS (a.k.a trusty). Make sure to use this version, since we will install packages specifically for this.

OPEN A PORT FOR THE DOMAIN SETTINGS PAGE

In order to be able to remotely administer our domain, we want to access its domain settings page from a web browser. When you run the Domain Server, it serves the settings page on port 40100. So open port 40100 to http connections and we will be good to go. If your service allows you to specify the external port, either choose 40100 for simplicity or choose a unique port and remember it.

SSH TO YOUR INSTANCE

Follow the instructions from your cloud provider to connect your terminal to the remote machine via ssh. When you’re connected, you should see a command prompt.

BUILD HIGH FIDELITY