HUD Toolbar missing

I’m new to High Fidelity, and I’m using my laptop, rather than an Oculus Rift or Leap etc. I’ve managed to get inworld and can navigate clumsily, but apparently there is a HUD toolbar that is supposed to be visible. Is it just supposed to be there or do I need to unhide it somehow? I see no HUD.

Sandbox and Interface are both running.

I’m using a Mac laptop, running Sierra 10.12.3, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, and NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB, and Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB for graphics.

Help?

Press the right mouse button. If correct a tablet will appear with everything that where in the hud before. Uhmm, only you use a mac and i did read you not have a right mouse button.

We don’t have right and left buttons, but we do have control-click which works for right-click. (Macs are fully capable computers.) And I have tried that. Nothing happens.

So, I connected my two-button, scroll-wheel mouse and went to the Play area. Apparently I can make things happen by clicking on them (when it says “click on this”), but I can’t grab, and the right button gets me no menu.

On the right-click not bringing up the tablet - that seems to be a new bug for Mac users in the recent Interface releases. @Caitlyn

On the issue of not being able to grab things when not in VR mode, indeed that is how it works. The bad news is that there is very little attention paid to making non-VR mode (aka desktop mode) work well in HF. For better or worse they are concentrating on the immersive experience. That obsession forces us mundanes to figure out how to script grabbing. There was one attempt at it, which worked for a while until changes to interface broke it:

Hi odd. Apparently the newest version of HiFi does not work on Macs. I have a MBP and an HP PC desktop. The update works fine on the HP, and not at all on the Mac.
No ability to load the scripts, and need to force quit to get out.