Mesh Upload how?

Hello everyone i am on my way to build Mesh Objects for SL and Open Sim in thouse two Worlds all works fine and very easy in High it is all a bit confussing for me. I know its on alpha Stage but how do i upload things is there really only one way first load it to an external server and than import with URL from there to High ? Or are there some ways to get it directly into High Fidelity ?

I tested it with Dropbox but nothing works well, i must say i am no Pro in Mesh but maybe someone can help me
It would be cool when it gets a bit simpler but yeah we an Alpha Stage :slight_smile: So i would really really be happy someone can help

There is only one way - the asset lives on a service you must provide that can provide said asset via http url link.

I’m wondering how safe that actually is. Being that there is no actual restriction on who can access that URL, can’t anyone just grab the FBX?

Yes, they can do exactly that. As I’ve said time and time again - you put nothing here that you can’t accept risk of losing control of. Period. Every new person must understand that. If anyone can enter an area where your content is they can get the URL, download and do with as they please.

Thanks! Well, I’m done here then. I’ll be back when they come up with a safer system.

I have faith it will, eventually, be better and a great place to be, but I well understand your sentiment. That being said - there probably is some value in keeping track of this and being ready for when it is more… palatable.

Yep, I understand it is Alpha, but… it’s really hard to test anything, if our content isn’t safe. Oh, and I’m already ready for it.

You can test in safety by running a stack on local hardware and hosting your files on a local server. If you don’t provide ways for the outside world to get in then it’s the safest thing ever. :wink: