Processor Overhead Question - Three.js CLOTH versus HiFi_engine simulation?

I’m going to need a lot of the devs and alphas to chime in on this one.

While looking at the posts by @humbletim I found
http://threejs.org/examples/#webgl_animation_cloth

I also recall @Twa_Hinkle showing us an OpenGL WebGL water shader js that ((myself or someone else)) might be able to apply to a cube. Pictured: not the same one, but an example from the same link cloth was found:

My question is this: I want to leverage the most efficient methods for cloth simulation. Things like Banners and Flags upon the Alpha Quintessance will come to life in the sea breeze, and the audio sounds that come with it.

Should I simply start filling up on JS heavy objects or wait until the Engine supports it? @Menithal, can I create a hack ((cause I’m that kinda guy)) whereby a bot avatar located at an arbitrary origin has a soft attachment that is effected by wind?

Special note: JS Dev by trade. I would be fine with integrating node.js or similar library dependancies upon my StackManager or SandboxConsoles.

@c, @Balpien.Hammerer, @Caitlyn, @thoys, @Adrian

Simpler method for cloth would be just have an entity that is made out of a grid of armatures, and animating / parenting them to one an nother instead: no need to go use an bot avatar with an arbitary origin :slight_smile: coz that you would be doing anyway with the “flag avatar”

But yeah, JS heavy object would be another way, but I do not know how you can render planars without entities, not per say making something curved with them.

Also, gotta remember with a JS heavy object is that the entity server and the clients are gonna get quite busy with the calculations an updates.

Ultimately I think dynamic cloth simulations will have to be done the GPU, but there might be some fun ways to approximate them if willing to jump through some hoops…