Q How democratic do you want highfidelity to be?

Having been here a couple weeks, I am getting a sense that the highfidelity people are so knowledgeable about everything you need to know to make highfidelity, that them trying to explain how to do stuff is akin to getting theoretical physicists to explain string theory to musicians.

I am really behind the democratization idea. I think I have a good sense of the design philosophy. The biggest shortfall for me is that, though I became fluent in LSL and wrote my own code in SL, I did not do much with the web architecture stuff. I am largely self-taught and learn everything via trying to figure out how to do something I want to do; right now I want to make furniture you can sit on. I am playing with Caitlin’s chair, and spend a lot of time grokking it. I recognize how like javascript LSL is, and also how unlike it is.

I am also a gamer who plays FPS and world of warcraft and others. My desire to create 3D worlds came out of early experience with American McGee’s Alice and Clive Barker’s Undying, both had me ga ga eyed and wanting to make things.

Most of my time now is grokking highfidelity rather than doing anything useful. There is a gigantic and steep learning curve.

If democratizing highfidelity includes people like me being able to use it to make 3d worlds, rather than only professional web developers, then I am certainly willing to give feedback that would help make it more accessible to people like me. I wonder if this sort of feedback is wanted - or if the target audience for highfidelity is web developers rather than gamers or say minecrafters.

I wonder, I guess, if I have stumbled into something that is really not meant for me at all. Just wondering if people can enlighten me about this.