Rendering visual and audio information differently for different users

Hi, I’m new to HiFi and would like to use it for a research project I’m working on.

For my project, I need to:

1. Send “social cues” (head direction, location, is user speaking) of each user/avatar to an external server to analyze the social interaction in real time.
  2. Manipulate the way avatars are rendered separately for each participant, based on information from an external server. For example, by “fading out” (reducing oppacity / blurring / other visual manipulations) avatar X to participant Y but not for all participants, or making everyone see the rest of the avatars as looking directly to them. Similar ideas will be applied to the audio: participant X could hear participant Y but not participant Z while participants Y and Z hear everybody.

Although I’m not quite sure how, reading through the scripting docs it seems that the 1st task will be possible to achieve with HiFi. However, I don’t know if the 2nd one is feasible or not.

Does anyone have any experience with something similar?

Is it possible to manipulate other users avatars (hiding / muting / apply more involved rendering manipulation like changing head direction and blurring) in client side scripts?

I will surely use the next few days to find out by myself, but any clue from experienced users will help a lot!

Thanks,
Tom

Under the people menu item, you can select users to selectively mute or ignore. I haven’t looked at those scripts to see how they work but it sounds related to what you want to do.

The users API defines Users.ignore and Users.personalMute
https://wiki.highfidelity.com/wiki/Users_API

I’m not 100% sure but I think the file that controls that UI is pal.js