Running a Domain Server On DigitalOcean

I have just finished a document that explains how to setup your own Domain-Server to point a place name to through Digital Ocean.

The tutorial is hosted on the Highfidelity Documents page here: http://docs.highfidelity.com/v1.0/docs/digital-ocean-domain-server-setup

In short it explains how for 5.00 a month you can have your own server hosted in a datacenter that allows for a greater number of other avatars talking and chatting on your Domain/Place.

If you follow the link in the tutorial to sign up for Digital Ocean you even get 2 months worth of hosting for free.

Hope you all enjoy!

Digital Ocean, Linode, or another for the complete noob

Everybody… The utterly fabulous Coal !!!

Referrer link is a great deal - it rewards both sides of it, you get $10 free and referrer gets $25 if you eventually spend enough with DO.

For another free $10 (or sometimes more!), look at;

www.retailmenot.com/view/digitalocean.com?c=6777602

Also for those going with Digital Ocean - keep a close eye out for any announcements regarding bandwidth. Currently, each class of droplet says it has X bytes per month, but, if you check Digital Ocean support they have said it currently is not enforced. Once their infrastructure is updated to allow limits and display of use they say they will enforce those caps with to be announced overage fees. But - they will notify well before this happens, if ever. Just something to keep in mind as with the $5/month droplet you could get to limits in a busy domain, especially if you also serve content from it.

One more thought on this - as to geographic location of DO droplet… it makes most sense to pick one near where bulk of your “audience” will be. There’s little advantage to preferring San Francisco unless most of your users (or self) is on US West(ish) Coast. SFO also has a long history of issues, but, they - at last - seem to have fixed that.