Some Suggestions from a New Scriptor

I’m still new to scripting in HF and already having a difficult time transitioning into it. I’ve ran into some issues during scripting that I think could be improved on for new users…

• When debugging using the HMD-supported Debug window, at one point an entity would generate multiple print statements on a single entity click. But after I came back later and started up the server, it finally generated a single print statement as expected. A confusing experience.
  • A script will work and then all the sudden not work. No errors are reported either to indicate an issue. Again, a confusing experience.
  • Copying code from the wiki doesn’t guarantee it will work as-is and this could be better documented. I’ll see if I can get in touch with someone in-world who spoke to me about that. Not very helpful in getting new users going with results. Yes, I know it’s beta and things are a development in process.
  • Tutorials and documentation (where appropriate) could be cross-device (HMD, mouse, keyboard) supported. It doesn’t help when I go to learn a tutorial and I find out that you can’t make it work as-is for mouse.
  • Please consider making a better in-world script editor. I use an external editor because the in-world editor just feels lacking. I would prefer to use an in-world editor for most cases. Large scale projects may be a different case. For me, working in-world feels more productive than switching back and forth between windows.

I apologize in advance. Not trying to be bitter here. Just throwing out suggestions here for a possible better user entry experience.

We definitely appreciate the feedback, keep it coming!

We’re working on improving our documentation, and can definitely update the tutorials to include any specific peripheral requirements (e.g. hand controllers). Do you happen to remember which code from the wiki didn’t work as-is? I’d like to go in and fix it.