Summary of storytelling project

Hi Folks,

Some of you have seen me around here for the past few months, I’ve been working on a storytelling project in HiFi and have collaborated with several Alphas and Betas. I thought I would post a summary of the project we just concluded, as it may be of interest to the community. First though I want to give a huge shout out to my collaborators on this: Adrian Carlie was the first Alpha to respond to my early inquiries and this project would not have been possible without him. He built our world and all our props, wrote scripts, managed the servers, and a million other things. Another Alpha, William Brown, AKA the Captain, was also instrumental. In addition to acting the lead role (and killing it) the Captain also provided incredibly helpful technical expertise.

I’m a filmmaker who has been interested in wrestling with the fun problem of how to tell fiction stories in immersive VR. I created an experimental project which I called a story-game. Not a great title, I’m still looking for a better one. I wrote a short fiction screenplay and cast VR ready actors from across the country. This script was designed to be performed live, in real-time, to an audience of one person. Our “Guest”, to borrow a term from the HBO series Westworld, a show that influenced this project to some degree. Our “guest” was asked to role play as a minor character in the story, and the entire experience was interactive. While the narrative story unfolded, the Guest followed the action, watching the main characters and occasionally interacting with them. We kept things short and simple, but like anything in Hi Fi, it was not at all simple. In fact it was extremely challenging for all involved. We faced the normal obstacles of Hi Fi being in Beta and not working reliably. And we faced additional challenges of hosting multiple avatars in one space, learning how to rehearse and act in VR space, dealing with all the issues that an interactive story presents, e