Version Mismatch Ubuntu 16.04 Amazon Lightsail

I’ve been combing through the forums and I see absolutely nothing that helps just people giving up. 2 years ago I had a server running in Ubuntu no problem.

I keep coming back to HiFi to see how it’s evolved and each time I have to give up. I’m a 3d Modeler, my experience with Linux is “okay” at best. I got the Lightsail server so myself and a small team of other developers could begin working on a project here. I have done everything any of the instructions have said to do. I tried using OmegaHeron’s packages as well.

I can get the domain-server running no problem but no matter what i do when i try to connect from the Interface on my Windows machine, I get a version Mismatch Error, and the SSH client just floods with Protocol Verions Mismatch - Denying connection. I’ve been at this for 2 days now. Has anyone had any luck, i’ve seen another post about it as well, but it burried itself somewhere.

Hi. The comms protocol between client and server changes from time to time, for example recently in the “RELEASE-6431” merge into the “master” branch.
When you run a client (Interface) against a server with a different comms protocol version you’ll get the “version mismatch” error.

If you’re building your server off the “master” branch you’ll need to run a copy of Interface built off the master branch. You can find these at https://highfidelity.io/dev-download/

Alternatively, if you want to run the current official “release” version of Interface from https://highfidelity.io/download/, you’ll need to build your server from the “stable” branch. Note how the current “stable” branch is also tagged “RELEASE-6435” which matches the version number for Interface given in the download page.